• Home /Exam Details (QP Included) / Eligibility Criteria Overview – For IAS Examination.
  • Eligibility Criteria Overview – For IAS Examination.

    The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India, including the Indian Administrative Service, Indian Foreign Service, and Indian Police Service.Continue Reading Eligibility Criteria Overview – For IAS Examination.

    Also simply referred to as the UPSC examination,it is conducted in three phases – a preliminary examination consisting of two objective-type papers (General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II also popularly known as Civil Service Aptitude Test or CSAT), and a main examination consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay) type, in which two papers are qualifying and only marks of seven are counted followed by a personality test (interview).

    IAS Age Limit 21 to 32 years
    Age Relaxation As per category (mentioned below)
    Educational Qualification for IAS Graduation
    Nationality Indian citizens only
    IAS Eligibility – UPSC Age Limit

    As per the Civil Services Age Limit, the candidate Should be between 21 and 32 years, as on 1st August 2020 (for the UPSC CSE 2020), i.e., he must have been born not earlier than 2nd August 1988 and not later than 1st August 1999.

    Civil Services Age Limit is an essential factor in the eligibility criteria. Therefore candidates applying for UPSC Exam should check these details properly before filling the online application form.

    Category UPSC Age Limit- Upper Relaxation Number of Attempts
    General 32 6
    OBC 35 9
    SC/ST 37 Unlimited (Up to age limit)
    Disabled Defence Services Personnel 35 9
    Ex-Servicemen 37 9
    Persons with
    Benchmark Disability – EWS (Economically weaker section)
    42 9
    Educational Qualification

    The various academic requirements as per the IAS Eligibility Criteria are given below:

    • Minimum qualification for UPSC exam: The candidate must hold a degree from Government recognised Universities or possess an equivalent qualification.
    • Candidates who are in their final year or awaiting results are also eligible to appear for UPSC preliminary Examination. All such candidates who are likely to appear for IAS exams must produce proof of having passed the said examination along with the application for the main IAS examination.
    • Candidates having professional and technical qualifications recognised by the Government as equivalent to professional and technical degrees.
    • Medical students who have passed the final year of MBBS, but are yet to complete their internship also have eligibility for IAS. Although, along with the Main Examination application, a certificate of course completion (including internship) from the concerned authority of the University/Institution has to be submitted.

    Please subscribe here to get all future updates on this post/page/category/website

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

     2019 2019 2019